function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
KrawlsKrawls 

Need Help creating a customized BASIC button

Hello,

I am VERY new at the programming side of SFDC.  I need to create a new button on the Task area that reads "New Note."  We have to be able to report on our note/history and so as an organization we have to log our notes under Activities.  Our organization requires very basic and specific processes or they will not be comprehended, so I need to create this new custom button on the activities list.

What I would like this button to do, is open an activity and also pre-populate the subject line, with "Case/Note History."

Does anyone know the process/code for creating this button? 

Not sure if this is possible, but if the button also pulled up the Task page and it was able to be programmed to just show certain fields that would be AWESOME!!!!!  We currently track different things in our Tasks Activities and for the group of people that I work with, if when they clicked on "New Note" it would customize what fields appeared, it would be amazing.

Thanks!!!!!!

devNut!devNut!
I assume you want a new button to appear on the task related list (e.g. if you scroll down on an account detail page to the open activities seciton)

Now if you log into sfdc and click any NEW TASK button take a look at the URL in the browser and it should look something like this:  https://na2.salesforce.com/00T/e?retURL=%2Fhome%2Fhome.jsp  (this link is from clicking NEW TASK on the home tab)

A trick is that you can pass in values through the URL to pre-populate values on the create screen, for example:
https://na2.salesforce.com/00T/e?retURL=%2Fhome%2Fhome.jsp&tsk5=1213123

You can create an Activity custom button (setup - customize - activities - task buttons and links)
Type: list button
Behaviour: in existing window with sidebar