function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
andrew_mowatandrew_mowat 

Genral Code/Config Deployment

Hi All,

I am fairly new to Salesforce and I am investigating the tools available for code promotion between environments.  I  have the Eclipse IDE and the new Migration Toolkit installed.

What I would like to be able to do is make changes to our sandbox environment through the website (standard object changes, page layouts, users etc etc).  Then I would like to be able to promote these changes to our live environment somehow without having to re-key everything! In time I would also like to promote s-controls, apex and visualforce code, however I don't require this just now.

Can anyone advise if this is available with the current tools?

Many thanks,
Andrew
learnSFlearnSF
You can deploy to live through Force.com IDE tool.
andrew_mowatandrew_mowat
From what I have read, it seems that you can only deploy custom objects, s-controls etc through the IDE.

Is it possible to deploy standard Salesforce objects as well.  Do these have to be packaged in some way?

As an example, would it be possible to have a sandbox and live environment in sync.  Then make some minor changes to the sandbox (updating a page layout, adding to a drop down list etc), and have these changes promoted to the live env?
JonPJonP
Andrew,

See the Force.com Migration Guide at http://www.salesforce.com/us/developer/docs/daas/salesforce_migration_guide.pdf  (link) for detailed instructions.

Jon
andrew_mowatandrew_mowat
Hi Jon,

I am trying to use the retrieveUnpackaged call and getting some strange behaviour.