function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
eyewelleyewell 

Issues with Asynchronous queries in Flex - complete

I am a bit of a newbie with asynchronous calls, and I am having a problem with my code.

Background:
I have a for loop within a for loop.
For each account that is returned in the first loop, I query its opportunities, and want to set a field on those child opps.

Problem:
The problem is that the code seems to only do the update on opps for the last account in the set of accounts. It seems as though each async call is aborting the one before it.

Can someone suggest a fix (don't use asynch calls for this purpose?, or am I doing it wrong?).

pseudocode is below:

for each ID in accountArray[]
{
    apex.query("select all opps where acct ID = 'ID' ",

new AsyncResponder( function saveChildOpptyQueryResult(result : Object):void

{

for each oppty in result
             {

set field in oppty updOpp

apex.update([updOpp], new AsyncResponder(updResult,genericFault ));

}  //end oppty for loop
         }  // end saveChildOpptyQueryResult()

,genericFault() //this is the fault handling function of the asynch call
} //end account for loop

SteveBowerSteveBower

Without looking into into your async issue at all, you might want to consider that your method will require nA*nO  update calls to salesforce.  You might be better off, performance wise, to batch your updates in a local array and then submit them 200 at a time.  (Or build the array until it reaches 200, submit it asychronously, and then build a new array.)

You're also issuing a query for each account ID to retrieve it's related opportunities.  You could do this at the same time that you get the accounts.So, perhaps you could issue a single 

Select a.Name, a.Id, (Select Id, Name, TotalOpportunityQuantity From Opportunities) From Account a