function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
LarryHLarryH 

Hiding Account Record Types based on user roles

Hi,

I'm a new sysAdmin for salesforce.com and also the trainer on this and many other internal tools. Recently, my organization has been going through a major de-duplication of accounts. This is mainly our fault, due to the fast growth of this company, but none-the-less it has been no easy task. Currently, we use many in-house tools that integrate with salesforce.com on a nightly basis.

As part of our de-duplication process, I have been working to figure out a way to hide accounts from sales user roles when the account record type is changed to out of business or dead account. I'm a little lost and working with all the resources I have in this regard.

Ideally, we'd like our sales people to only see 3 types of Account Record Types in their personal lead lists. These types are Account - customer, Account - prospect, and Account - former customer. These are custom ART's that work best with our business.

Does anyone have any ideas as to how we could achieve this? I am open to exploring every option that is available. Thanks!
-Larry 
PerGeertPerGeert

Hi Larry,
Depending on your Account sharing rule settings a solution might be at the same time you change the account's record type, to change the account's owner to a user, who's accounts are not visible to the sales people.
- Per

LarryHLarryH
 Thanks for the suggestion but it really wouldn't work in our organization. The sales person must own the account. We share markets with newspapers and sales reps rely on my team to keep these accounts straightened out. Selling a deal to an out of territory or newspaper market would have serious consequences.