function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
fredkafredka 

Pulling in fields for child object?

Hi - I am pretty new to salesforce - so new that we are still manipulating our trial account to see if salesforce will work for us.

We have two custom objects that are related.  "Oppty Product" is the parent and "Horizon Products" is the child.

I have a lookup for "Horizon Products" on the "Oppty Product" l layout.  What I would like to do it pull in a bunch of the fields from "Horizon Products" object onto the "oppty product" object.  These fields would need to have the ability to be changed by the user and would stay on the "Oppty Product" object.

Basically, we have a bunch of products but many of the products can be customized.  Thats why I want to pull in the default values from the Horizon Product but yet give the user the ability to modify them.

Is this currently possible?  If so, I would really appreciate some guidance - thanks!!!!!!

Fred
Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
werewolfwerewolf
At the time he wrote that back in April, the TEXT function wasn't yet available for picklists, but now you can just say TEXT(Picklist_Field__c) and it will spit out the value of the picklist!  So that will simplify things at least.

All Answers

werewolfwerewolf
First of all, you say: "Oppty Product" is the parent and "Horizon Products" is the child.

But then you say: I have a lookup for "Horizon Products" on the "Oppty Product" layout.

These two statements are in direct opposition to each other, unless you meant to say that you have a lookup on Horizon Products to Oppty Products.