function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
JLAW17JLAW17 

Seeking a chart of useful URI's

Hi,

I'm new to the salesforce.com development thing, and I've been playing around with S-controls and finding them very useful for accomplishing many things, but I'm wondering this...

Is there a description of the various actions that one wants to perform from a URI call and how to code them.  For example, I know that a call to na1.salesforce.com/500/.... will cause the creation of a case for the contact or lead whose info appears after the 500/, but where would I look to see a comprehensive list of what can be accomplished how?  Is there a chart/table somewhere?

For instance I want to convert leads to contacts and populate certain fields with form data, etc.

Thank you.

John
SuperfellSuperfell
The approved way to work with your salesforce.com data is via the API, not by munging URLs to the web application.

Using the describeSObject call you can discover a number of useful URLs for the webapp, include the edit / detail / new page URLs for the specified object type.

Message Edited by SimonF on 01-16-2007 08:14 PM

JLAW17JLAW17
Simon,

While I can appreciate that point of view, it does not seem to be shared by Chris Sommers, Senior Sales Engineer, as he has published an entire document on the beauties of making S-controls with calls back to salesforce in the manner I have described, and he has placed it rather prominently on the salesforce.com website.  My only embarassment, albeit slight, is over the document's name, "S-Controls for dummies."