function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
lamayclamayc 

Dynamic price books

I have a master product list. Each client gets a different percentage off price on products. Can I do this and will everything stay in sync with master price book?

Example : Have master price book with 1000 products (each with its own price of course). Client X gets 10% off each product. Client Y gets 20% off. Client Z gets 30% off. I am assuming (please correct me if there is a better way) that I need to create 3 cloned price books for this and set the prices appropriately.

1) I do not see any way to set a formulae in a price book, so I would have to enter each price manually. (A pain to have to program something for this, but doable). It would of course be great if I could just set a discount formulae though ... ie price book A has 10% discount on all items.

2) Can I set the other price books to automatically be updated with new products ftom the master list (since all the price books have the same exact products). For example, if a add 50 new products to the master list, I would ideally like the other 3 price books to pick up the products and of course have the discounts correctly applied for these products. (Again, a pain to have to program something in for this, like maybe a trigger on master price book change, blah, blah ... but if there is something already available for this, that would be fantastic).
Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
MVJMVJ
You have other options available to you besides creatong multiple price books.  With Summer 08 comming you have some cross object formulas where you could potential store the discount percentage for each customr and pull that into the opportunity and calculate the price for the customer based upon thier discount percentage.