function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
mhw8mhw8 

Deploying to the force.com cloud.

I am new to force.com and I have what is probably a very basic question.  For custom applications that we wish to integrate with SalesForce CRM, is it possible to deploy these applications within the SalesForce cloud / stack or are the Web Services APIs the only option?

Please let me know if this question is too vague and I will attempt to clarify. With my limited knowledge of force.com, I am just not sure where to start.

-Mark

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
shillyershillyer

Thanks for clarifying, since you plan to create this custom app for just your internal company, you are really only limited the available features in that Salesforce Edition.

If you require more than the point-and-click features, you can leverage Apex Code and Visualforce to program custom business logic and UI to meet your business needs. The Force.com Developer Guide can go more into these technologies.

So I recommend first determining what edition your company uses and what are the features available, and then build from there. You can then use your free Developer Edition to build all of the functionality and then use the Force.com IDE to deploy this to your company's production account when ready.

Best,

Sati

All Answers

shillyershillyer
Hi Mark,

You have two options here:

1. You can build a custom application completely on Force.com that extends Salesforce CRM. Once complete, this application can be packaged up and distributed to your customers via the AppExchange.

2. You can build a custom application on your own hosted stack and use Force.com Web Services API to integrate with Salesforce CRM