function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
MiguelSeabraMiguelSeabra 

Select * Query

Hello,

I'm new to SF, and have been using it for the past 3days.... I've been programming a custom S-Control in Javascript in order to have access to the SF Database. I've had some problems but I've been able to figure them out. There's one problem that remains, though. I cannot seem to use a "Select *"-like expression in order to access all of the fields of an Account (for example)...

Can anyone help me with this problem?.. I've been reading that it has something to do with the API's describeSObject, but I'm still not certain of that.

Thank you for your help.

M.
tocktock
hello,
 I think you need to enter the fields in the 'select *' doesn't exist with the SOQL, the describeSObject simply describes the sobject and you can get a list of the fields to do this.
 Also 'developers sidekick' which is free will display the fields and even commar seperate the field list for you to cut and paste, so that query takes no time to make. 

hope that helps
MiguelSeabraMiguelSeabra
I know that I need to put the fields, but I want to make the expression as universal as possible, in order to make it usable for the other tables, such as "opportunities", "contacts" and so on...

The line of code I'm using is something like:

var queryResult = sforceClient.query("Select FirstName, LastName From Account", LayoutResult);

but this only retrieves the "FirstName" and "LastName" fields from the Account Table... what I need is a SOQL expression that accesses all the fields of the desired table... Someting like "Select "all fields" From Account"...

thank you

M.

DevAngelDevAngel