function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
JCoppedgeJCoppedge 

easiest way total data from related list?

I plugged in the Inline Account Hierarchy and it works great!  Problem is that I need to get totals from 3 numeric fields on all of the child accounts.  How difficult would it be make the changes to the code to generate totals as well?  I am an Apex newbie...

OR, would it be possible to create a custom button that called a report that filtered based upon account ID and included these totals in the report?

How has everyone else resolved this need?

werewolfwerewolf
Have you tried making a Rollup Summary Field?
JCoppedgeJCoppedge
Roll up Summaries can only be created for a master-detail relationship, while the parent account field is a lookup relationship.  When I go to create a roll up field on the account the only object I have listed is opportunity... am I missing something?
werewolfwerewolf
Well, you could make a report like that using a custom summary field, sort of like this.
Pat McQueenPat McQueen

One way to do this is to use an inline s-control that runs on page load and calculates the total.    (Of course you should use a VisualForce page and not an s-control) This sample summarizies won opportunities of that specified account using the "IsClosed" field.   This is just a sample but to make it work, Add the Total Won Opportunties Custom field to the Account page layout where you want this field to be displayed. Be sure to make the field read only both in the page layout and in the custom field definition. Add the s control to the Account page layout where you want this field to be displayed. Be sure to make the width and height 0 so it will not affect the layout visually.

There are other ways to do this as well.  You can have the total be updated everytime a child is updated via a trigger (or maybe workflow)