function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
AdrianaAdriana 

Creating custom buttons.

Hi,
I've never created a custom button, and I have created 3 different objects (Listing, offer and closing) I'd like to be able to convert the listing into an offer and then the offer into a closing. Something similar as the standard convert objects in leads and opportunities. Any ideas on how I could do it?

Thanks in advance,

Adriana.
kMans2kkMans2k
Hey,

I am also a newbie and attempting to do something similar.

1st step is for you create a custom s-control with the following code:

<script language="JavaScript">
function redirect() {
var url = "/a07/e?retURL=%2F{!Listing__c.Id}"+
"&00N70000001xm30={!Listing__c.Name}";
parent.frames.location.replace(url);
}
redirect();
</script>

In this script "a07" is like a ID for the object you are creating. You can find this by selecting the custom object tab and then click "new".  Then look at the URL. eg:
https://na5.salesforce.com/a07/e?retURL=%2Fa07%2Fo

the code for the object should be after ".com/"

"retURL=%2F{!Listing__c.Id}" bit lets you return to the Listing you were viewing after you've saved the Listing.

"&00N70000001xm30" is the id for input field in the Offer page. To get these go to the create new Offer page and choose view source. The ID's will show up. "{!Listing__c.Name}" is the field from Listing you want to pass to the Offer object.

What you'll have to do is to create a custom button and call it "Convert Listing". Choose "s-Controls" as a source.

It's not exactly a conversion, but it does pass information through. I'm having trouble with picklists though. i cannot seem to pass the value of picklist fields from the details page.
AdrianaAdriana

Hi,

Thanks for your quick reply. I really appreciate it.