function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
rblinorblino 

Web-to-lead and Campaign

Hi,

Trying something that sounds simple but has been a headache so far... be gentle, I'm new at this.

All we want is a small form that sends info as a lead to salesforce - this form has a hidden Campaign_ID field.

First of all, when you generate the web-to-lead code it gives you the Campaign_ID and not the Campaign field as the one you should be sending to salesforce. We found out from salesforce that you actually have to use the "name" and not the "ID".

Everything works fine except for the auto-response rule that looks for the Campaign field to then send out an email with an attachment. We've tried "Campaign_ID", "Campaign" (name), with parenthesis, without parenthesis, and many other options - it just doesn't want to work.

Any suggestions? Anybody out there been able to do this? We've called salesforce and they've "escalated" the issue... just trying to get a faster answer to this...

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

rblino
ScotScot
We found out from salesforce that you actually have to use the "name" and not the "ID".
This surprises me. As you noted, the generated form uses the Campaign_ID, and I am sure that the submittal to the Web-to-lead servlet uses this campaign id, not the name, for the generation of the lead.

That said, the campaign ID is not available to the auto-response rule.

I'd expect that you should use the campaign_id on the submitted form, but the campaign name in the auto-response rule.

We have implemented almost the same solution ... however our auto-response rule checks a different field -- not the campaign.
jeffstuitjeffstuit