function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
BrandiTBrandiT 

Roll-Up Summary to show # of Contacts on Account - using Trigger

I need a Roll-up summary field on Accounts showing the number of related contacts.  Unfortunately, this is a lookup relationship so roll-up summaries are not available. 

I found a trigger that was written as a work around to this problem, but since I have no experience with triggers I need help revising the code.

I only want the contact counted if a field on the contact (Billing Contact) = True.  The trigger I found will count all contacts.  There may be 20 contacts on the account, but only 5 of them are marked billing contacts.  I only want this trigger to count the 5 contacts marked Billing.

How can I modify this code to accomplish this or is there a better way?

Thanks so much!!!

/* Provide summary of Number of Contacts on Account record */

trigger ContactSumTrigger on Contact (after delete, after insert, after undelete,
after update) {

Contact[] cons;
    if (Trigger.isDelete)
        cons = Trigger.old;
    else
        cons = Trigger.new;

// get list of accounts
    Set<ID> acctIds = new Set<ID>();
    for (Contact con : cons) {
            acctIds.add(con.AccountId);
    }

Map<ID, Contact> contactsForAccounts = new Map<ID, Contact>([select Id
                                                            ,AccountId
                                                            from Contact
                                                            where AccountId in :acctIds]);

Map<ID, Account> acctsToUpdate = new Map<ID, Account>([select Id
                                                                 ,Number_of_Contacts__c
                                                                  from Account