function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
XXXXXX 

Can I Create an Apex Class in An Enterprise Edition Org?

If so, how? (The New button is missing.) I am a system administrator for this org and my user account has the Development Mode checkbox checked.

If not, why not?

TIA,

John

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
iCloudiusiCloudius

This from the help & training link regarding Apex: "You can add, edit, or delete Apex using the Salesforce user interface only in a Developer Edition, a Salesforce Enterprise Edition trial organization, or sandbox organization. In a Salesforce production organization, you can only make changes to Apex by using the metadata API

deploy call, the Force.com IDE, or the Force.com Migration Tool."

So you'll need to use a different tool if you're in the production environment.

All Answers

iCloudiusiCloudius

This from the help & training link regarding Apex: "You can add, edit, or delete Apex using the Salesforce user interface only in a Developer Edition, a Salesforce Enterprise Edition trial organization, or sandbox organization. In a Salesforce production organization, you can only make changes to Apex by using the metadata API

deploy call, the Force.com IDE, or the Force.com Migration Tool."

So you'll need to use a different tool if you're in the production environment.

This was selected as the best answer
XXXXXX

Thanks for the heads-up. I have posted an idea suggesting that perhaps giving us access to the native SF IDE from an enterprise org would be helpful.