function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Alex.AcostaAlex.Acosta 

Query Timeouts due to Formula Field

Hi there,

I've been developing in Salesforce for a few months now, and long story short... I've been using Salesforce's SOAP API since Version 15, and currently using Version 20 with the Partner WSDL. Within the last few weeks I've noticed an issue with how Salesforce changed their back-end structure when accessing data from record that contains formula fields.  I've tried talking to salesforce development support team with no results other than extending the timeout per Salesforce Org.

This "bug" is happening when dealing with an object that has over 2 million records, and pulling back the oldest record within that object with all of its fields. But, if I exclude the formula field, the query is always successful, and I'm able to retrieve at least 100k records using the queryAll, and queryMore webService. So my question is how else can I get all of my data, without having knowledge of what the date is of my oldest record.

Example of query:

SELECT * FROM <objectName> WHERE LastModifiedDate >= '1993-02-23T00:00:00Z' ORDER BY LastModifiedDate LIMIT 1

In theory I would like to get this working with queryAll, so I could query more than 1 record, maybe 100k records and using the queryMore webService call to get data in smaller sets.

Please help.

jhurstjhurst

Alex,

Because of the multitenant nature of the system, there are some limits that queries have.  When you are running queries with complex formula fields across large data sets, the query may not perform well enough to return the data.  There are a couple of things that you can do to help this alopng: