function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
rDr4g0nrDr4g0n 

How is the salesforce web interface able to get properties that I do not have access to?

Hey guys, I am new to developerforce, so I hope I'm not asking something that is really obvious or in the wrong forum or something like that...

So,  here's the situation. I do not have full access to the Account object in our salesforce install. When I try to query it using Flex, it it returns just 3 Accounts, though I know there are thousands in there. The web interface, on the other hand, is able to list the Account.Name with no probs (though clicking on it gives an access denied error). I need the Name because an Id is pretty useless to the end user :)

So I guess my main question is how is the web interface is able to get Account.Name? Is this something I can leverage in some way in order to obtain the Name property for my own app?

Thanks in advance!

werewolfwerewolf
Well, have you checked the field level security on Account?  Have you tried the same query with Apex Explorer or the Force.com IDE?  What's the sharing model on Account?
rDr4g0nrDr4g0n

I am not setup as a developer for this salesforce install as it is part of a very large organization, and it takes forever to get stuff like this cleared. For this reason, I don't know about the sharing model and security settings.

I have nearly finished developing a UI using Air with permissions that my account has, but this one piece is something I can't seem to get solved.