function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
lleachlleach 

Querying and emailing reminders for opportunituies

Hello,

I am new to salesforce and am currently browseing through the large number of tutorials here.

However, I was hoping someone could give me some pointers to help me resolve an immediate issue.

I have seen this issue raised elesewhere in the message boards, but there did not appear to be a clear resolution.

An email authentication rule was created to automatically send a reminder out when an opportunity 'expires', i.e., when a created field 'registration expires' becomes less than todays date.

Although this works fine for subsequently edited or created opportunities, and which were created BEFORE the rule and have not been edited since do not appear to trigger.

I have read from This Thread that this is because email rules do not apply retroactively to records, and only become 'linked' to the opportunity if is created or edited after the rule is created.

Unfortunatly, there appears to be a large number of opportunitues which are now not sending out reminder emails, far to many to go through and edit manually.

What I was hoping I could get help with is a way to query all the opportunitues and send out a template email to each that has exipired.

However, I have no idea where to start, or what terms to search for in the help.  Is this an S-Control, raw apex code or is there a way to mass edit/save the records to trigger the remider? How do I query the opportunties? Some sort of query then a 'foreach' loop maybe?

Many thanks,

Laurence

NikiVNikiV