function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
JayInSAJayInSA 

Contact to Contact relationship

Sorry....probably a pretty basic question for most of you out there, but I am still learning.

I am setting up a small database for enrollment at my school.  I have setup the parents names as the "Account" and the children as the "Contacts" that are then tied to that account.

It would be helpful to me if I could identify siblings directly on the Contacts page.  In other words, I would like to establish a lookup field on the Contact layout page so that I could easily that John Doe has 1 sister and 1 brother.  However, when I try to do this it setup in a parent-child relationship.

I would like to be able to do the lookup, select the sibling record and then have it automatically update the siblings record as well.  So it wouldn't be a parent-child relationship but rather a daughter-daughter relationship.

Any ideas?

Hope this makes sense.

Pradeep_NavatarPradeep_Navatar

Your business requirement is perfect but if you are trying to achieve this by just creating a lookup on the contact, it won't work. You need to write a trigger to achieve this functionality. Whenever you create a relationship, trigger will update it in the other record and same relationship will be created with both the contacts. However there is a limitation, you can only link two contacts (1 self +1 other) in this manner. For an example : In case you want to create relationship with two conatcts (1 self + 2 others), create two lookups say sibling1 and sibling2.

Hope this helps.

tantotanto

Looks like you are a non-profit. Are you using the Non-Profit Starter Pack from Salesforce?

mh218mh218

Take a look at these - involves some visualforce but not over the top in terms of complexity:

Sam Arjmandi's Blog Post

Salesfiorce Developer Guide