function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Antonio_hotelbedsAntonio_hotelbeds 

Showing errors in Salesforce

Hi!

Im new in capturing errors and showing errors within salesforce and....I am a bit lost....

I have a trigger that is fired when converting a lead into account. This trigger will update one field of the account.

The problem is that in our organization we only let the sales managers convert into exisiting accounts, not into new ones. But some of them still try to convert into new ones and then, because of the trigger they get this error:

Error: UpdateNumbercontactsWhenConverting: execution of AfterUpdate caused by: System.FinalException: SObject row does not allow errors Trigger.UpdateNumbercontactsWhenConverting: line 14, column 4

I would like to show them a different error, easier to understand, like: ERROR:you cannot convert a lead into a new account.

Any ideas on how to do it?This is my code. I tried with the addError but i get

Save error: Method does not exist or incorrect signature: addError(String)

trigger UpdateNumbercontactsWhenConverting onLead (afterupdate) {

Set<Id> addAccounts = newSet<Id>();

for (Lead lead: Trigger.new){

if(lead.IsConverted){

addAccounts.add(lead.ConvertedAccountId);

}

}

if

(addAccounts.size()>0){

Map<Id,

Account> Updatevalue = new Map<Id,Account>([select Number_contacts__c fromAccountwhereId in: addAccounts]);

for (Accountacc:Updatevalue.values()){

if (acc.Number_contacts__c==NULL) {

addError(

'You cannot convert a lead into a new account only into an existing one');

}

acc.Number_contacts__c=acc.Number_contacts__c+1;

}

updateUpdatevalue.values();

}

}

Thanks!!

BTW, I am in the conversion screen and I would like to show the error in that screen.

Devendra NataniDevendra Natani

Hi,

Instead of that