function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Stanley_DCStanley_DC 

New Developer - HOW to send automatic email based on record import/input/update

I am a SFDC administrator.

My boss wants the system to automatic send him a notice once there is a new opportunity (donation) coming in.

Our new opportunity is generated through

1. regular input data into an object
  2. salesforce data loader
  3. batch data entry (by using the object "batches")

I am trying to build a workflow, so once there is a new opportunity, an email delivery will be triggered.

However, the SFDC support analyst said it is IMPOSSIBLE to trigger workfolow rules uising Apex Data Loader or Batch processes.

I was wondering how I could solve the problem?

Thank you

Stan

TechiesTechies

u can achieve this by using apex coding using messaging.singleemail or mass email objects

Regards,

Kiran

Stanley_DCStanley_DC

Hi Kiran

Thank you so much. Actually, I am completely new to Apex Coding. Can you give me a direction on where to find the relvant coding materials?

Thanks,

Stan

sfdcfoxsfdcfox

Workflow rules always trigger, with the single exception of the Import Wizard, if they are specifically disabled (by leaving the "trigger workflow for new and updated records" option turned off). They are equivalent to database-level triggers (i.e. Apex Triggers), and are not normally circumvented. Emails will be sent normally in this scenario. For custom integrations, you may need to set the SOAP header EmailHeader's triggerUserEmail and triggerOtherEmail to true in order to send emails, but all other actions will occur normally. The Apex Data Loader will also trigger emails normally.