+ Start a Discussion
santoshasbesantoshasbe 

remove Update banner

Hi, I need information on how to remove the update banner after login. This banner is displayed as 'These updates are available for your computer click here '
This message has to be removed for all users. What is the setting administrator should change?
Message Edited by santoshasbe on 07-27-2009 02:46 AM
Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
MATTYBMEMATTYBME
  1. In Salesforce, navigate to Setup | Manage Users | Profiles.
  2. Click Edit next to a profile name.(You will have to do this for every profile)
  3. Go to the Desktop Integration Clients section at the bottom of the page.
  4. For each desktop client, choose one of the following options:(Chose the Blue Option)
    OptionMeaning
    Off (access denied)The respective client download page at Setup | Desktop Integration is hidden. Also, users cannot log in from the client.
    On, no updatesThe respective client download page at Setup | Desktop Integration is hidden. Users can log in from the client but are not allowed to upgrade it from their current version.
    On, updates w/o alertsUsers can download, log in from, and upgrade the client, but do not see alerts when a new version is made available.
    On, updates w/alertsUsers can download, log in from, and upgrade the client. They will see update alerts, which they can choose to follow or ignore.
    On, must update w/alertsUsers can download, log in from, and upgrade the client. When a new version is available, they will see an update alert. They will not be able to log in from the client until they have upgraded it.
Message Edited by MATTYBME on 07-27-2009 05:27 AM