function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
chrispattonchrispatton 

Corporate site single end-user login

Hi All,

I'm new to salesforce (both as a user and as a soon-to-be developer) and I was wondering if I could get a little help in trying to design out how to implement customer logins to our corporate site.

We want to have a single user login for everything on our site including:

- Watching Screencasts / Webinars

- Using a trial sandbox of our software

- Support/Case tracking

- Feature suggestion

- Commenting on our corporate blog

- Forums

- etc.

- Anythign else we might want to add in the future

Basically, we want our customers to have a single identity that they use whenever they interact w/ our company, and we want that login to be tied directly to the Contact record in Salesforce, so we can have as complete a picture as possible about their activities w/ us.

I've had a chance to read up on (at a high level) sites and customer portal (self service, and the full), and I'm not sure that our needs can completely be met through these. The only solution that I can think of right now is to manually to all of the authentication, and then use the authenticated info to query Salesorce through the API.

I'm hoping that there's a better way to do this.

Thanks in advance!

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
chrispattonchrispatton

Thanks!

My goal is to avoid having a separate database, so I was considering keeping the authentication info on the Contact object itself.Is that a good/bad idea?

All Answers

kingkong94538kingkong94538

There are various ways to implement this.

A simple way is to do mapping in some data repoistory.

Authenticate the user and then transfer user to Salesforce through the webservice.

chrispattonchrispatton

Thanks!