function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Chris760Chris760 

Why are time-based workflows not triggering?

So a little background... I have a master-detail relationship established between Opportunities (Master) and Invoices (Detail).  On the Invoices object, I have a number field called "Amount Due", a date field called "Due Date" and a checkbox called "Overdue".

So I have a timed workflow setup where, when Today = Due Date, a timed workflow is supposed to perform a field update on the Invoices object where the "Overdue" checkbox gets checked.

I then have a rollup field to the master (Opportunity) object that totals the "Amount Due" field on any Invoices where "Overdue" is checked.  So once the workflow triggers and checks the "Overdue" checkbox on the invoice, it should rollup the amount that's due on that invoice, to the "Amount Overdue" field on the Opportunity.

So it seems pretty straitforward to me... but for some odd reason, when the timed workflow is supposed to fire, nothing happens.  Instead, it just sits in the Time-Based Workflows queue for a few hours before it finally dissapears, like the system finally gave up and purged it.  When I create it as an immediate workflow, it works prefectly.  It's only when I create it as a timed workflow that it falls apart.  Also, when I create it as a timed workflow that checks another "Test" checkbox that's unrelated to the rollup, it work perfectly.  So it's just when it's a timed workflow that checks a checkbox that's needed to make a rollup work that everything seems to go haywire.

Does anyone know if there's some wierd criteria at play, where you're not allowed to make time-based workflows that set the required criteria for a rollup field?  If so, what's the work-around for that?  I'm really at a loss here.

Vinita_SFDCVinita_SFDC