function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Maggie2010Maggie2010 

Best way to load/report on lots of data in SalesForce?

I am a Java developer and I am new to SalesForce. I am taking over the SalesForce admin role from a marketing person.

My company uses SalesForce to track sales leads and clients.  I have some 2,000 accounts and about 10,000 contacts. My main database is on SQL server 2007. These contacts have tons of transactions in my main database. About 10,000 transactions a day. Contacts in my system are being identified as requestor of those transactions.

Now I want to use SalesForce's nice reporting feature to report out of those transactions. And I need some historical statistics. So I need to report out of maybe one million records.

What's the best way to do this? Import all these transactions from my SQL server DB to sales force? Or should I explore the option to have Sales Force to connect to SQL server DB? I looked at the import option and realized that those data will take lots of data storage space. Sales Force only gave me 1GB data storage :(

As I said, I am new to SalesForce. Not sure what's the best practice. Could someone please help me out? Thank you!

Ispita_NavatarIspita_Navatar