function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
CodeRedKyleCodeRedKyle 

Task Validation Rule

I want an error message when someone attempts to assign a task of a certain type if they don't assign it to the correct person.  

Here is what I have:

(OwnerId <> "Kyle Hill") && (ISPICKVAL (CallType, "PROGRAM MANAGEMENT - NEW ENROLLMENT"))

I get no errors when saving this rule, but also no errors no matter who I assign to the task.  

Any ideas? (i'm very new at this) 

Thanks in advance! 

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
JimRaeJimRae

I got it figured out a different way, you could try.

Use this code instead:

And( ( OwnerId <>"005000000018b2a"), ( ISPICKVAL( CallType, "PROGRAM MANAGEMENT - NEW ENROLLMENT")))

This will only error if both of these are true.

All Answers

CodeRedKyleCodeRedKyle
I'm not sure why there are winking faces
JimRaeJimRae

Your ownerid is going to be a userid value, not the name.  Something like "00500000001Bc2e".

You are getting the smilies because you typed code, and didn't use the "insert code" button (the clipboard with the c on it).  Any time you have semicolon and paranthesis ;   )  next to each other ;) you will get the smilies.

CodeRedKyleCodeRedKyle
Thanks!  - Where do I find my user ID?
JimRaeJimRae

If you go to manage users in setup, select "users" , then find the user you need the ID for.

select their full name, then look at the URL your browser is set to

it will be something like https://cs3.salesforce.com/00570000003IqBj 

The string that starts with the 005  and is 15 digits long is the user id.

CodeRedKyleCodeRedKyle

Thanks, I did that - but no change.  Should I have the userid in ""?  or not

if you could correct my (OwnerId <> "005XXXXXXXXXXXX") && (ISPICKVAL (CallType, "PROGRAM MANAGEMENT - NEW ENROLLMENT")) 

can you correct what i have?

JimRaeJimRae