function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
bkradminbkradmin 

Pay extra for test class?

I am a programming-illiterate admin who recently hired a free-lance programmer to write a simple trigger for our org and provide directions for deployment. He finished the job, and now directed me to write the test class prior to deployment. I had a look at the instructions and its Greek to me. He now offered to do it for me, at an extra cost. Does it make sense that this would not be considered a natural part of the trigger development and would require an extra cost?

Avidev9Avidev9
Well test classes are required for deployment and hence this is generally considered as a part of development.

Generally freelancer charge you for the hour of effort they spend on particular job. So essentially the total effor should be (Trigger + TestClass).

But again it depends on the relationship you carry with the developer, the terms that you both agreed on. This is something I dont think can be discussed in develoepr board
GunnarGunnar

Without these 'tests', the programs cannot go to production.

The 'code' he wrote is useless without the tests.

Without the 'tests', you gain no benefit.

Without benefit, what did you need the programs for?

Generally, it is assumed the programmer will provide code that can/will work in production.

Does the contracts say you write the tests?

Go look at your contract with that programmer.

GunnarGunnar

To add to this thought - the 'tests' are the proof his programs work according to Salesforce requirement. That burden would be on the programmer. Otherwise - he could write anything!

Assume you write the tests? And the programs fail the test? Then what?

Rahul_sgRahul_sg