function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
gmcinnesgmcinnes 

What SOQL does salesforce.com use to execute a report?

Hi all:

I'm a relative newb. I'm building an integration with salesforce.com via the SOAP API. I've reached a sticking point.  There is a report that  I need to access via the API.  I understand I can't access this directly, but the preferred approach is to mimic the SOQL that the report would be running, and generate the same data set that way.  

This seems straight forward, but I can't seem to make my SOQL get the same number of results as the report in salesforce.com.  Attached is a screen capture from the report page, as well as the SOQL I'm trying to use to generate the same data set.

SELECT Count(Id), (SELECT Contact.Name FROM Account.Contacts WHERE Contact.MaRS_Contact_Relationship__c INCLUDES ('Advisory Services Primary Contact') AND Contact.Inactive_Person_left_company__c = false) FROM Account WHERE MaRS_Company_Relationships__c INCLUDES ('Active VG Client', 'High Potential Client', 'SiG Client')

Can anyone see how these differ?  Or do you know how, in general, to get the SOQL that the report is executing?

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
Andrew WilkinsonAndrew Wilkinson

The only thing I can think of is the outer query is only filtering on the account. Try doing it from the child object...

SELECT Count(Id),Name FROM Contact WHERE Account.MaRS_Company_Relationships__c INCLUDES ('Active VG Client', 'High Potential Client', 'SiG Client') AND MaRS_Contact_Relationship__c INCLUDES ('Advisory Services Primary Contact') AND Inactive_Person_left_company__c = false GROUP BY Name

All Answers

The only thing I can think of is the outer query is only filtering on the account. Try doing it from the child object...