function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
jeevesjeeves 

Adding a task to an existing case

Hi,
     I am new to the AppXchange APIs so this may sound very trivial but I couldnt figure out a lot from the documents. I am enhancing the email2case agent and I got it to work with the partner WSDL for version 7.0. The next step is I want to handle email messages that are a followup to a case by adding it to an existing case as a task rather than opening up a new case which the email2case agent does by default. Is there a way to achieve such functionality through either the enterprise or partner wsdl and what is the best way to schieve it. We will be following a particular format so by parsing the email subject we can categorize it as either an update or a creation of a new case. The partnerWSDL has just one operation(handleEmailMessae) for handling email messages which does not meet this requirement.

Thanks!
DevAngelDevAngel
In this case, where you have determined that this email is part of another case's thread, you would by pass the email handling (handleEmailMessage) and instead get the id of the parent case and creating a new task associating it to the parent case by setting the what id on the task to the id of the parent case.

jeevesjeeves
DevAngel,
Thanks for the input.

On executing the following query to obtain the case of the parent case

select id,subject from case where caseNumber='00001029'

using SOQL I get the following error

"Unable to create/update fields: CaseNumber. Please check the security settings of this field and verify that it is read/write for your profile."

However casenumber is by default readOnly and thats all I need. Could you provide me some insight into this?

jeevesjeeves
Please ignore my previous message.
Roger ERoger E