function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
chandraYeruvaRechandraYeruvaRe 

Developing a new web service

Hi all,
I am new to force.com and wanna learn what is force.com technology is.I am very much interested to learn webservices creation and invoking the same from a java program.

i found the web services api doc and crated a web service like this using an apex class.
global class Mywebservice
{
 webservice public static mywebservice()
{
System.debug('trying toi insert somehtning.');
}

public testcase
{
Mywebservice.myswebservice();
}

}

Now i am facing the problem.Shall i need to do anythning extra so that this service can be deployed. i donno really ???

after this I went to setup->create->API and clicked on enterpriseWSDL link and got the WSDL file to my computer.I went and verified if my webservice description is there or not  (it is not there).

I did the same to generate the partner wsdl and verified i didnot got anythng .. :(.

can anyone please tell me how to deploy the web service and how to invoke it by using what WSDL or does i need special permissions to do so?

thanks
chandra.

SuperfellSuperfell
The WSDL for your apex class is available from the setup -> develop -> classes page.

Simon,

I used the wsdl generated by web service and generated the java code using WSDL2 java emitter.

I got 2 java Files.

Now how can i invoke the service defined by me.can i put this cod e in quick samples and run as it is ? or does i need to build a client seperately. please advice

thanks

SuperfellSuperfell
depends on which of the 50 or so java soap toolkits you are using, but there should be a class that rpresents the server, you need to construct one of those (sometimes via a factory class), and construct one of the enterprise or partner client stubs, call login, use the sessionId from the login call to call the first stub.