function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
expeditebizexpeditebiz 

DHL Shipping Integration

Our company developed DHL hosted SOAP Web Service: dhl.expediteship.com

I just signed for Sforce developer program in order to connect the two SOAP Web
Services.

I need to get the fields required to preform a shipping request. Basically when shipping is performed
2 addresses are required: Shipper, Consignee. Also product info: Dimensions, Weight, Price.

Because I am new to Salesforce I will appreciate any help to get this project running faster.

DevAngelDevAngel

Hi expediteblitz,

Is your question how to get the fields or where to get the fields from?

Address information can be obtained from an Account object (company address), a contact or lead object (person address), an organization or user object (sender address).

For the product specifics (dimension and weight), these would need to be custom fields created on a product object.  The product object provides for pricing.

How to get this information depends on how the "connection" between the 2 services is implmented.  In one case you may want to click a link on an opportunity (the opportunity roughly represents a purchase transaction) to initiate the shipping process.  In this case, some of the data can be passed on the link and the rest of the data would need to be obtained via query calls (Select address from account where id = accountid).

If you provide more information on the direction that you are thinking in I would be happy to assist in any way.

Cheers

expediteshipexpediteship

I want to renew this topic.

The project I make is VB.NET client.

I want to call Sforce via SOAP API and get orders made via Sforce UI.

So the questions are:
1) How to add product details for weight and dimensions and how to access them via query.
ProductWeight
ProductDimension