function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
AlexRitsonAlexRitson 

sending an ICS (Outlook compatible) calendar request with workflow

Hello,

This is my first post here.  I'm putting in Salesforce to my organisation and it has been good so far.  However, there is one feature which is missing, and I really need to find a workaround.

During our Opportunitiy stage, we have various meetings.  Some of the people who attend are Salesforce users, most of the people aren't, but their emails are in the system and accessible to the either as contacts or custom email fields.  It is obviously easy to create a workflow rule that emails all the people I want to email when a meeting is arranged, however I want to accompany the email with an ICS attachment that has the meeting time.

I'm not a programmer, although I do play with HTML code in my spare time for fun.  As such, I may well ask things that appear a bit dumb - apologies in advance for this.

However, I have found the two following bits of code which might make my objective possible, with a bit of tweaking.  If you can give me any help or advice, I shall be most grateful.  I have also realised that I'm noto the only one who wants this goal, so if you can come up with the answer, there will be grateful people around the world.

Thanks in advance!

Alex.

CODE 1:

<?php
  $date      = $_GET['date'];  $startTime = $_GET['startTime'];  $endTime   = $_GET['endTime'];  $subject   = $_GET['subject'];  $desc      = $_GET['desc'];  $ical ="BEGIN:VCALENDAR
VERSION:2.0
PRODID:-//hacksw/handcal//NONSGML v1.0//EN
BEGIN:VEVENT
UID:". md5(uniqid(mt_rand(),true))."example.com
DTSTAMP:". gmdate('Ymd').'T'. gmdate('His')."Z
DTSTART:".$date."T".$startTime."00Z
DTEND:".$date."T".$endTime."00Z
SUMMARY:".$subject."
DESCRIPTION:".$desc."
END:VEVENT