function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
dongdong 

Does salesforce provide API for java?

I am quite new to salesforce development.  I wonder if salesforce provides API for java ?  Namely, it provides some jar files which I can add them into project build path, and then  I can call some method by this API ?  
noedskovnoedskov
Hi dong,

There is a salesforce API which is a SOAP API. Two versions exists of this API. One is the partner API (used by salesforce.com partners) and the other is the enterprise API which is available for everyone with a salesforce enterprise license.

In our company we use the enterprise API and I must say it is very nice to work with. And, if you have ever worked with a SOAP API before I'm sure you will find it quite easy as well. You simply download the WSDL file and generate the client source code and you're ready to go!

/Søren Nødskov Hansen
dongdong
Hi Hansen,
  Thank you for you kindly reply. Well , may I ask you another question?  I just downloaded a  WSDL file (enterprise.wsdl) from salesforce  and  installed axis at c:\axis-1_4 , and I added all the jar files  of  axis into  system's classpath.
Later, I run : java org.apache.axis.wsdl.WSDL2Java -o   enterprise.wsdl  
System prompted the following error:
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: javax/xml/soap/SOAPException
 at org.apache.axis.encoding.DefaultTypeMappingImpl.initMappings(DefaultTypeMappingImpl.java:119)
 at org.apache.axis.encoding.DefaultTypeMappingImpl.<init>(DefaultTypeMappingImpl.java:91)
   ...................................................................................................................................................
   ....................................................................................................................................................