function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
JAckerman09JAckerman09 

My Biggest Challenge as a Beginning (and Self-Taught) Force.com Developer

I know this looks like a massive wall of text (mostly because it is), but there really is a point and an idea down there somewhere, I promise. I just wanted to takl about the single biggest factor that is inhibiting me from becoming a true Force.com programmer. (Note, my educational background is completely unrelated to programming, so I am self-taught and very limited in funds I can put towards this self-teaching).

I know this is somewhat random, but there has not been a topic in Force.com that I have not been able to teach myself once I got down to it, but wrapping my head around the meta-teaching, or the organization of the topics I need to know to accomplish a goal, has been the single biggest inhibitor for me.

My idea, or what I am looking for, is a sort of “prerequisite tree” for Force.com features. I am a self-taught developer, and in this capacity, I have learned things very much out of order from what I probably should have. However, I was often given tasks that needed to be accomplished, so I would set off on the task, figuring out along the way what I did not know, then backtrack and teach myself the missing topics. While backtracking, I would often find additional topics that I didn’t know well enough and would have to backtrack even further. With some of the advanced functionality that Force.com offers, this process can go on for a while. I am at a point where I am tired of learning based on tasks, and I would like to take a more pragmatic approach to my learning with respect to Force.com, however, starting from scratch would be a waste of time (because I am familiar with many, albeit randomly distributed, topics) and money.