function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
jonc.ax191jonc.ax191 

Implementing single sign on for self service portal

I'm new to using the Sforce API and I was wondering if someone knows of an example of implementing single sign-on for the self service portal. For my scenario, a user logs into our software, navigates to the portal page on our site which automatically logs them in to the self-service portal, and then the portal is displayed in an Iframe on our site.

I suppose I can do a HTTP form post to "https://ssl.salesforce.com/sserv/login.jsp" to login the self-service user but can this be done through the API instead?

I use C#

Thanks,
Jon
jonc.ax191jonc.ax191
Nevermind -- I got it. I just used an HttpWebRequest to log them in and displayed the portal in an iframe. I also hid the logout tab behind a div to disable it.
surfoussurfous
Jon,

Can you share how you hid the logout tab behind a div? I assume you mean the one served by salesforce on the CSS portal pages?

Thanks,

--Kevin
RyanMRyanM
Jonc,

I am trying to use single sign on for our users to access self service after they login to our website. I was instructed to use the API and a SetPassword call. Do you have example code for this? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

-Ryan Moeller
(858) 726-1047
RyanMRyanM
Kevin,

I am trying to use single sign on for our users to access self service after they login to our website. I was instructed to use the API and a SetPassword call. Do you have example code for this? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

-Ryan Moeller
(858) 726-1047
jonc.ax191jonc.ax191
I wasn't able to implement auto-logon using the API. However when you first enable a user as a Self-Service Portal User, that's best done through the API. If someone knows how to implement auto-logon through the API, I'd like to hear it.