function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
rulichnyrulichny 

Getting Started - Web application to fill dropdown list with Salesforce Opportunities

Hi,
I have what appears to be a rather straightforward task but since I'm new to both .NET Web development and salesforce.com, I figured I'd ask before I get started.

We are creating a Web application that needs to show users a list of Salesforce Opportunities and allow them to make a selection. The selection will be stored in our own SQL Server tables along with other non salesforce related data that is entered on the screen.

Is this doable? From what I am reading I need to create and download the enterprise.wsdl. I also saw sample applications but wasn't sure which one was most appropriate for my needs. We are using vb.NET and Visual Studio 2003 Enterprise edition for our development.

Thanks in advance for your help.
J_HinderJ_Hinder
Freaky...I just did something similar the other day, and I rarely use Vb.Net. Sounds like you'll want to store the Id in your database to do lookups, but you might want to consider using salesforce to host the data and not using the SQL database on your side. Oh, and, and the web reference that I created to the Partner WSDL is called Sforce_Account_Lookup. You'll need to create this, and an aspx with a dropdownlist on your end for this to work :

Protected WithEvents Opportunities As System.Web.UI.WebControls.DropDownList

Private Sub (etc....)
'Do our login, Create the session
Dim SSO_Service As New Sforce_Account_Lookup.SforceService
Dim lr As Sforce_Account_Lookup.LoginResult
Dim dlr As Sforce_Account_Lookup.DescribeLayoutResult

'Username and password are stored in the web.config appsettings
Dim strUserName = ConfigurationSettings.AppSettings("Sforce_Username").ToString()