function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
DF007DF007 

Database.com

Hello All

I am new to Cloud Computing and Developer Force.  Therefore, apologies for such a fundamental question.

Excluding the fact that Database.com is a Cloud Database, what are the differenecs between Database.com and mySQL ?

Thank you, in advance.

Regards

sfdcfoxsfdcfox

Comparison of the two directly is unfair. A partial list of additional features includes:

• SQL syntax differences: SOQL/SOSL provides robust relational queries directly
  • A mature indexed search system (SOSL)
  • Built-in role hierarchy and user permissions
  • Automatic relational data management
  • "No-Code" validation rules and automation
  • Streaming API: Get new results pushed a client as they appear
  • Bulk API: Upload data and let the system process it while your client is offline
  • REST API: A direct browser-usable interface, also great for lightweight DB access
  • Chatter API: A way to add "social" features ("likes", "follows", etc)
  • Point-and-click Configuration: Adjust database structures without any coding at all
  • Built-in business logic, such as automatic escalation of records
  • Internationalization, including currency, time zones, and language translations all built-in

In short, database.com is a complete suite, similar to using an entire WAMP or LAMP setup with a ton of custom scripts built-in, as well as award-winning physical and logical security, redundancy, high-availability, and so on.

(Note: I'm just a normal developer, and not paid by salesforce.com to endorse their products.)

As you can tell, I'm a big fan of the platform.

DF007DF007

Thank you for your response sfdcfox, a really knowledgeable response.

I have a few further questions on the same topic :