function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
SunsterSunster 

Using Version 15 of the API to login properly

I am new to Salesforce and writing my first Integration Application using the Salesforce API. Here is a little background for my issue.

1. I have downloaded the Partner wsdl for my organization.
  2. I am using VS 2008 and VB for my development platform. 
  3. I have added the Partner.wsdl as a Service Reference

I am currently attempting to login using version 15 of the api. Here is the code that I am using:

Private Function Login() As Boolean 'Create service object Dim bResult As Boolean = False Dim sforcePartnerClient As New SForceTestingPartnerService.SoapClient Dim sforcePartnerLoginResult As SForceTestingPartnerService.LoginResult Dim sforcePartnerGlobalResult As SForceTestingPartnerService.DescribeGlobalResult Try Console.WriteLine("----Login Response----") 'Invoke the login call and save results in LoginResult sforcePartnerClient.Open() sforcePartnerLoginResult = sforcePartnerClient.login(New SForceTestingPartnerService.LoginScopeHeader(), New SForceTestingPartnerService.CallOptions, Me.SalesforceUsername, Me.SalesforcePasswordToken) 'Supposed to set SessionID 'Supposed to set URL If (Not sforcePartnerLoginResult.passwordExpired) Then bResult = True Else Throw New Exception("Salesforce Username Password is expired.") End If If (bResult) Then 'Begin to setup all of the appropriate objects sforcePartnerGlobalResult = sforcePartnerClient.describeGlobal(sforcePartnerSessionHeader, New SForceTestingPartnerService.CallOptions()) End If Catch ex As Exception Me.LogError(ex) Finally sforcePartnerClient.Close() Console.WriteLine("----Login Response----") End Try Return bResult End Function