function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
saritha78saritha78 

SForceService serialization problem

Hi,
I am new to Salesforce; I am trying to bind ObjectDatasource to a method in our custom namespace and I get the serialization error.

Here are the details:

In the APIHelper class (which is defined in a custom namespace which references the SalesForceWebservice), I have a method as
public static List<NewObj__c> GetNewObjects(SforceService binding, string opId)

I am binding this method to selectMethod of an object datasource and it gives me the following error:

Type 'a.b.SforceService' in Assembly 'a,
Version=1.0.2460.27497, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null' is not marked as serializable.

I believe this error occurs if a class does not have the attribute Serializable, in this case I think the class SforceService is Serializable and yet I get this message. Do I have to open a case with support to get a solution to this problem?

Thanks,
Saritha

SuperfellSuperfell
Why would SforceService need to be serializable ? isn't it NewObj__c that you want to be serializable (for which there is a switch in wsdl.exe to enable)
saritha78saritha78
WSDL.exe? Could you please tell me where I can find it?
I can download the WSDL.xml from "Download Enterprise WSDL"  link in App Setup--Integrate--AppExchange API. Can you please tell me how to turn on the serializable for NewObj__c?
Thx,
SuperfellSuperfell
wsdl.exe is the .NET tool that generates the code stubs from the WSDL (VS.NET calls this under the covers when you do add web reference). Like all the wsdl.exe options, they're not exposed in VS.NET, you'll need to manually run wsdl.exe on the wsdl. See the .NET docs on wsdl.exe
saritha78saritha78