function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
MDA_TeraMDA_Tera 

Possible outsourcing opportunity

I'm relatively new to Salesforce and have very little experience with S-Controls, etc.  I'm considering outsourcing the following and would like to see if it's a quick/simple project or if it's more complex.  I have a work around established, but if it's an inexpensive project, I'd consider outsourcing it.  If you believe this to be a simple project, and of interest, please let me know.

Regards,
Mark
Teradyne Inc.

I am trying to connect the Asset object to a Custom Object  (Software Support Agreement - SSA).  It's a many to many relationship (Asset will have multiple SSA's associated with it and an SSA can have multiple Assets associated with it).  I would like to use the related list functionality on both objects, but the standard functionality only allows you to add new records, it does not allow you to associate existing records.  My initial thought is to explore a custom button (on the related list) that allows the user to append existing records vs. creating new.  Both related lists would need to have this functionality.  I am open to alternative solutions as well that deliver a similar end result.

Message Edited by MDA_Tera on 09-11-200701:33 PM

SteveBowerSteveBower
Not a huge job as you're envisioning it, however have you considered instead creating another custom object called "Asset Support Agreement" ( or ASA) which serves as a linking object between a single SSA and a single Asset.

Easy ASA record would just have a lookup field for a SSA, another for the Asset, and a Name of some type.