function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
dgdeyo09dgdeyo09 

Need Apex Triggers to roll-up a formula field

I have objects A, B, and C. Object B is an association object for A and C, so it has a master-detail with both of them. Object B also has a formula field which takes values from C. I want to roll up that formula field to A. I know I need to use Apex and Triggers to do this, but I'm just learning and need some help with how to set up the triggers and classes. Thanks to all who respond

Jake GmerekJake Gmerek

Hi you will need an after update trigger on Object B in order for this to work.

Something like this:

Trigger myTrigger on B (after insert, after update)
{
list<id> aIds = new list<id>();
for (B myBRecord: trigger.new){
  aIds.add(myBRecord.id);
}

list<B> bRecordsToTotal = new list<B>([select id, myField from b were aId in: aIds]);

map<string, list<B>> bMap = new map<string, list<B>>();

for (B myBRecord: bRecordsToTotal)
{
  if (!bMap.containsKey(myBRecord.aId))
    {
      bMap.put(myBRecord.aId, new List<B>());
    }
   bMap.get(myBRecord.aId).add(myBRecord)
}

List<A> aRecordsToUpdate = new List<A>([select id, fieldtoUpdate from A where id in: bMap.keyset() );

for (A myARecord: aRecordsToUpdate)
{
  decimal tempTotal = 0;
  for (B bRecord: bMap.get(myARecord.id))
  {
    tempTotal = tempTotal + bRecord.myField;
  }
  myARecord.fieldtoUpdate = tempTotal;
}
if (aRecordsToUpdate.size>0)
{
  update aRecordsToUpdate;
}
}