function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
steven75steven75 

How to dump Account, Contact, Opportunity to local database

Hi,

I am new to SalesForce.  I know ASP, VBscript, MSSQL db, and some PHP and MySQL.   I would like to know if there is a way to dump the Account, Contact, Opportunity to a local MSSQL database?   I have been searching for last few days in the forum, but couldn't find any good document show me how to accomblish this.   The biggest thing is I have no clue how to connect to SalesForce data, then query Account, Contact, Opportunity, then after that I know to INSERT those data in the local MSSQL database.

Anyone has example if the VBScript, ASP.... anything would help?

Thanks,

Steven

SuperfellSuperfell

I would start with the getting started guide in the API docs. http://www.salesforce.com/us/developer/docs/api/index.htm

There are also existing tools / products like the Data Loader and ForceAMP that can make this easier (very easy in the case of ForceAMP)

steven75steven75

Thanks Simon,

I followed the document and this is where I am stuck.  After I clicked "generate Enterprise WSDL".   it generates a XML file.

"---------------------------------------------------------------

• Click Setup | Develop | API to display the WSDL download page.
  • Download the appropriate WSDL:
    • If you are downloading an enterprise WSDL and you have managed packages installed in your organization, click Generate Enterprise WSDL. Salesforce.com prompts you to select the version of each installed package to include in the generated WSDL.
    • Otherwise, right-click the link for the appropriate WSDL document to save it to a local directory. In the right-click menu, Internet Explorer users can choose Save Target As, while Mozilla Firefox users can choose Save Link As.