function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Jwdv22Jwdv22 

Show Parent Account's Contacts on Child Accounts Contact related list

Hello,

In our industry we have contacts who by for multiple accounts. We are currenlty cleaning up all these duplicate contacts since they are all assigned to multiple accounts and moving towards a model that contacts who buy for multple accounts are on the Parent Account. But they still want to see the buyers in the child accounts related list. The contacts shouldn't exist on the child, only be visible.

If did a search before posting, and found this but the post was old and I wasn't sure if anyone would see my reply since the original OP didn't report back whether that solution worked for them. Any help with this would be appreciated as I am new to developing for SalesForce.

Thanks

http://forums.sforce.com/t5/New-to-Cloud-Development/Show-Parent-Account-Contacts-from-Child-Account-records/td-p/234403

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
bob_buzzardbob_buzzard

An extension controller simply has an additional constructor that takes the standard controller as a parameter.  Further, the standard controller contains the record that is being edited/viewed etc.  

E.g.

private Account a;

public AccountExtension(ApexPages.StandardController stdController) {
        a = (Account)stdController.getRecord();
    }

If your page is viewing/editing an existing account, it will be passed on the id parameter to the standard controller.  

All Answers

bob_buzzardbob_buzzard

The principle is correct, although I think there's a bug where the contact is added to the map, as it just puts an empty list rather than a list containing the single contact.  You'll also need to put an iterator into the visualforce page - a pageblocktable or datatable would do it.