function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
JibsJibs 

How to create a form for database.com

Hi All,

This is my first time on this forum, and I am new to the whole databse.com concept.

My first question is: How to create a form that lets you insert information in the database.

And after doing that, is it possible to search for the things that are stored in the database?

If there is someone with a lot of patient and would like it to help me out I would be very grateful.

I am sorry for my poor English.

Greeter,

Jibss

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
Chris DaviesChris Davies

Jibs,

Force.com platform is architectured using the MVC Design pattern. The Models are called objects which is where your record is stored. There are two types custom and standard.

I suggest that you read more about these topics before you start doing any custom development:

Data Model

Standard Objects

Custom Object

Hope this helps

All Answers

Chris DaviesChris Davies

Hi Jibbs,

Not a problem, which version of Salesforce prouduct do you have is it definitely database.com or force.com?

JibsJibs

Hello Chris O Davies,

Thank you for taking he time to answer my question.(I know it is a stupid question)

I am sure that I am using database.com and not force.com.

Jibs

Chris DaviesChris Davies

Jibs,

Its not a stupid question, I just wanted to clarify. Now database.com doesn't really have a VIEW (MVC)

Depending on how you've architected your solution most people normally have an external system where they view the data and just store the records in database.com.

Like Force.com in Database.com you create a debug Log for a specific user i.e. yourself and use the new Developer console to perform an action which you can debug the result in the system log.

An example will be:

// Query for a list of specific sObject