function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
marcobmarcob 

copy entire development org?

Hi, i'm a sf newbie, just joined an existing development environment. I am about to start my first assignment, which is changing an existing module. This will take at least a couple of weeks to finish, but in the mean time our app is being packages every week (sometimes even more frequently). Is there a way to copy the entire environment, so i can paly around a little bit before i really start changing the existing code in the development org?

Many thanks in advance!

Br, Marco

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
Devendra@SFDCDevendra@SFDC

Hi marcob,

If you want to make changes inside the existing components of Managed Package then go for Push Upgrade method.

Please refer below link,

http://wiki.developerforce.com/page/Push_Patch_Updates

If you want to add new components (New Classes, Objects, Fields etc.) to your package, then you will have to create Major Version of your package. You can not able to add new classes,fields etc through Push Upgrade.

Thanks,

Devendra

If a reply to a post answers your question or resolves your problem, please mark it as the solution to the post so that others may benefit.

All Answers

MimicaMimica

Hi Marco,

If I got it right, what you want is a sandbox. It's a environment that is a copy of your production when you can test and develop your code.

Here, we have a brief description of the 3 types of Sandboxes:

Full copy sandboxes have the same storage limit as your production organization.
Configuration-only sandboxes have a 500 MB storage limit.
Developer Sandboxes have a 10 MB storage limit.    <===== you could start with this one
And a youtube video talking about it : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4K1RnpSMieQ
Serch for salesforce + sandbox to know a little bit more.
Cheers,