function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Ker Vin.ax1237Ker Vin.ax1237 

Triggers and batch processing

Hi there, just wanted to get some information from the users around here. I'm fairly new to the APEX scene and can't quite find the information I want to know.

As I understand, SFDC processes records in batches and therefore APEX coding/triggers have to be written in a manner of "batch processing". I understand that there is a limit of concurrent batches. Also, there is a limit to the number of records returned from any SOQL query. My questions are as follows

1) When writing a trigger and using the     Set<Id> idsToUpdate = trigger.newmap.keySet();command, won't we hit the limit fairly quickly if there is a large update running? As I understand, the command captures all records that execute the trigger. If I were to update 5000 records, then there will be that many entries in that set. Won't this be an issue?

2) Let's say that there is a limit of concurrent batch jobs. Using the above as an example, I want to match each newly created record to every other record in the database using Database.batchable. 
So, I can issue a (for Sobject objectname : objectList) loop and then pass each [objectname] into a Database.batchable job. 
As I understand, there is a limit to the number of concurrent batch jobs. For a sufficiently large number of records, this limit will be hit quite quickly right?

Can anyone suggest a better way for situation (2)?

sfdcfoxsfdcfox