function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
todw17todw17 

C# ASP.NET - Getting results into a DataGrid

Has anyone had any luck getting the query result to display in a DataGrid?  In the quickstart files provided, the results are displayed in a simple table.  I was able to get that to work fine, but I would like to have the added functionality of a DataGrid control.

Im new to all of this and am looking for a kick in the right direction.

Thanks in advance,

Todd

zakzak
Hi,

Unfortuantly the generated Web Services classes in .NET do not play well with .NET's data binding infrastructure (because the WS side uses public fields, while the databinding side looks for public properties, last i heard this is fixed in Whidbey). You can bind to a datagrid, but you'll need manually setup your columns in the datagrid (see the asp.net quickstart for details on how to do that if you haven't done it before)

Cheers
Simon
GlennWGlennW

Todd;

I find it is best to do the following:

1. Check the fields that you are getting against the meta data (from describeSobject) and use that data to build an empty dataset.  Use the soaptype to determine the column datatype
  2. Get the sobject() array using your query
  3. Add in a new datarow
  4. Read throught the .Any property of each sobject in the array and if the .LocalName matches one of your column names you can add that field to the newly created datarow in the dataset
  5. Then just bind your datagrid to the newly created dataset.

Cheers;
GlennW

DevAngelDevAngel

Hi todw17,