function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
esource8esource8 

Adding attachments to salesforce cases

I'm having some trouble adding attachments to a salesforce case. I'm pretty new to developing on salesforce, and our system uses a custom implementation using the Drupal CMS to send and retreive data from salesforce.

We have a form system that, upon submit, executes a function that inserts data into a salesforce case. What I'm trying to do is add some code that takes a file (an array with a filename, path, mimetype, filesize), and adds it to a salesforce case. I have not been able to find any documentation that explains how this works with any sort of clarity, and again, please note that I am pretty unfamilair with the salesforce API.

The insertion currently works fine, I just need to figure out how to add attachments to it. Any help you could give me would be greatly appreciated.

Here is the function that handles the salesforce insertion:

function esource_inquiry_form_submit($form_id, $form_values) {
	global $user;
	global $sf_retrieve;
	global $form_values;
	profile_load_profile($user);

$first_name = $user->profile_sf_FirstName;
	$last_name = $user->profile_sf_LastName;
	$user_name = $first_name ." ". $last_name;
	if (strlen($first_name) == 0 && strlen($last_name) == 0) {
		$user_name = $user->name;
	}
	$user_email = $user->mail;
	$user_phone = $user->profile_sf_Phone;

$rid = 0;
	$user_company = $user->profile_sf_AccountName;

//get the user's Salesforce ID, to map to ContactId in Salesforce case; added BJ 12/07/07

$user_contactId = $user->profile_sf_Id;
	$idLen = strlen($user_contactId);
	$user_contactId = substr($user_contactId,0,$idLen-3);
	//////////

$fields = array(
		'ContactId' => $user_contactId,
		'SuppliedName' => htmlspecialchars($user_name),
		'SuppliedPhone' => htmlspecialchars($form_values['phone']),