function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Larz78Larz78 

New formula

Hello,

i am a newbie with SF and i am in desperate need to create a custom numeric field with inside a formula with the following validation rule:

1)take the first 9 number provided and multiply these numbers repectly with:6, 5, 7, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7

for example if the 9 numbers are: 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9 it is: (1*6) + (2*5) + (3*7) and so on....

2)Sum of the multiplications

3)Check of the last number provided (the 10th number) with the following: check digit = sum of the multiplications -  (218/11) * 11

Thanks a lot very much.

SwarnasankhaSwarnasankha

This could be done in the Validation Rule. Do you wnat the Validation to fire when the check digit is equal to the calculation or when it is not equal to the calculation? Also, could you give me a number combination which should pass as well as a one which should fail.

brunol11brunol11

Did you solve thiz maze?

I had the same problem here to generate billings code bar wich requires a validator digit.

there are two ways to solve it:

Up to 10 numbers, you can create a text field and map each digit with the functions TEXT, VALUE, MID and perform the rest with MOD and others operators,. For instance:

11-(MOD(((VALUE(MID(N__c,10,1))*2)+ 
(VALUE(MID(N__c,9,1))*3)+ 
(VALUE(MID(N__c,8,1))*4)+ 
(VALUE(MID(N__c,7,1))*5)+ 
(VALUE(MID(N__c,6,1))*6)+ 
(VALUE(MID(N__c,5,1))*7)+ 
(VALUE(MID(N__c,4,1))*8)+ 
(VALUE(MID(N__c,3,1))*9)+ 
(VALUE(MID(N__c,2,1))*2)+ 
(VALUE(MID(N__c,1,1))*3)),11))