function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
BrianWKBrianWK 

Overcoming SoQL Limits

Hi everyone. I'm still very new at writing triggers. I've had a few succesful ones. We have one trigger that is firing on a custom object and updates two fields pulled via SoQL from its related object. The code below works well but only updates 1 record when using the dataloader.

Code:
trigger Product_Contact_Roles_Phone_Email on Product_Contact_Role__c (before insert, before update) {

//Set Contact_Email__c  to Email
 //Set Contact_Phone__c to Phone 

//This should set a variable to an identifier 
 String ContactID = Trigger.new[0].Contact__c;

Contact p = [SELECT Phone FROM Contact WHERE contact.id = :ContactID limit 1]; 
 Contact e = [SELECT Email FROM Contact WHERE contact.id = :ContactID limit 1]; 
  //For the Item that's update the field Phone__C value is set to the varible defined above

Trigger.new[0].Contact_Phone__C = p.Phone;
  Trigger.new[0].Contact_Email__C = e.Email;
So I updated the code to loop through the Trigger.new. This works, but once I get more than 10 records being updated I reach the limit. I think I can use a map to grab all the Phone and E-mails from the related contact IDs of items in Trigger.new and then use a for to loop through all Ids from Trigger.new to update from the Map. But 1. I'm not sure if this would work and 2. if it would not quite sure how to build it. Here's the trigger that's breaking the limit:
Code:
for (Integer i = 0; i < Trigger.new.size(); i++) { 
 Contact p = [SELECT Phone FROM Contact WHERE contact.id = :ContactID limit 1]; 
 Contact E = [SELECT Email FROM Contact WHERE contact.id = :ContactID limit 1]; 
 Trigger.new[i].Contact_Phone__C = p.Phone;
 Trigger.new[i].Contact_Email__C = e.Email; 
}