function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
B2B2 

Test class - Would someone be so kind??

Hi Everyone,

I'm very new to Apex code and am following the sample app that was introduced at the Salesforce Tour de Force show and attempting to learn the language.  I've created the following Apex class, but now need to unit test it and I just can't figure-out how to do it.  The workbook doesn't provide any instructions on how to write it and I've tried without success to get something running.

I talked to someone who knows Apex code and they indicated it would only take 7 or 8 lines of code to sufficiently test the attached code that would enable me to deploy it to my sandbox, but I really need some help here.

I know this is asking a lot, but could someone provide me what I need to test this code - with some remarks as well?  I would REALLY appreciate it!!

Here's the code:

Code:
public class MileageUtil {
 static final integer MAX_MILES_PER_DAY = 500;

public static void areMilesAllowed(Mileage__c[] miles)  {
  Double totalMiles = 0;
  String createdbyId = UserInfo.getUserId();

/* adds miles that were created in previous requests for today */
 for (Mileage__c mq: [select miles__c from Mileage__c
  where Date__c = TODAY and
  createdById = :createdbyId and
  miles__c != null]) {
  totalMiles += mq.miles__c;
 }

/* Totals the miles in the request */
 for (Mileage__c m:miles)  {
  totalMiles += m.miles__c;
  if (totalMiles > MAX_MILES_PER_DAY)
    m.addError ('Mileage request exceeds daily limit: ' + MAX_MILES_PER_DAY);
 }  
  }
}

jeremyfrey1jeremyfrey1
You're always going to have a difficult time unit testing your code due to the dynamic contents in your Mileage object.  Normally, you'd just add a testMethod to the class in the following manner:

Code:
public static testMethod void testAreMilesAllowed() 
{